Walk me through building a fire in new Jotul F3 CB

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

laneysprout

Jan 4, 2011
Outside Providence
We installed a new Jotul F3 CB a few weeks ago, tempered it, and are now having a heck of a time developing and maintaining a fire. We are complete newbies and purchased the stove new, on a whim, to heat our 900 sq. foot, two-story house because the tax credit was so appealing and it seemed more efficient and sustainable.

We can barely get the kindling to stay lit and while the logs seem to be burning, per se, there aren't any nice, full, billowy flames.

It's not heating the house (which it should be able to do easily, it seems).

The glass door keeps getting black.

We have no idea which vent (bottom or top or ash pan or door) to open when or for how long.

We are trying to burn seasoned oak, but we've tried all the methods we can find online and nothing seems to be working.

Can someone please just walk me, literally step by step, through getting a fire going? My husband won't ask for help, but I will :).

Thanks in advance!
Alana