Walls too hot?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fran35

Jan 10, 2011
PA
I have an Englander 30 installed in a finished basement(professionally installed) All clearances to combustibles were strictly followed, actually well in excess. Directly behind the stove is block cement--waiting for tile. However, the ceiling which is 8.5 feet high, is dry wall over floor joists with insulation in between. I am a novice burner and am worried about the dry wall directly above the stove. It seems very warm, but not hot to the touch. I have no idea what temperature it actually is because I don't have an infrared thermometer. However, I heat my whole house with the stove and at times when I really throw a load on at night, the basement room will climb to mid 90's( I actually hit 100 once). This is not over firing the stove either. While these temps are the exception, the basment does generally stay in the 80s and the upstairs stays about 72-75. With these temps and the height of the ceiling, is it possible that I am getting the walls or ceiling too warm? Please excuse these questions if they seem ridiculous, but I tend to be overly safety conscious and have two small children sleeping above the stoveroom. Thanks in advance Frank

If I am picturing this in my head correctly, at 8.5 ft high walls, your sill area is drywalled over? which has got to be about 5 foot higher than the stove? You are fine.
If the wall is warm, your fine. If your that worried, pull the drywall off and put some durok on there. Overkill.