Sounds of stuff falling inside chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Bill in the U.P.

Burning Hunk
Dec 6, 2016
Michigan
This year I cleaned my stove pipe and chimney from the top down. I used a SootEater Rotary cleaner. The class A part of my set-up is only a few feet straight through the cathedral ceiling. My stove pipe is 8" double wall pipe and approximately 20 ft. from the stove to the ceiling. At the ceiling I have an offset of two 45 degree elbows in the black pipe. We have been burning since late October. My wood is mostly maple that was split and stacked early in the spring last year so only dried for the summer. For the last few weeks we occasionally hear what sounds like something granular falling down inside the chimney. It only lasts a few seconds. If I lightly rap on the stove pipe with my knuckles I hear stuff falling as well. This is our 4th year with this set up and this has not happened before. I am very concerned. We are having totally strange warm weather right now and my roof is bare so I am thinking the prudent thing is to do another cleaning. I also think I am going do a brush cleaning from the bottom as that is what I have done in years past. If this were your set up would you just continue to burn with confidence or do another cleaning? I have lost a little sleep wondering if I am burning in an unsafe manner.

I would brush more for peace of mind. If you have a soot eater, why get on the roof? Just clean from the bottom. Do you have a moisture meter? Good chance that wood split last spring is not dry enough.