Ways to increase heating ability

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Bushels20

Feeling the Heat
May 20, 2018
OH
Hello All,

New here and first post. I’m looking for ways this summer and fall to increase the heat output of my Napoleon 1101. I have been heating with wood for 5 years, so I’m through the learning curve at this point. Not a veteran, but have a good winter routine and can keep my 2,000 square foot split level home in Ohio plenty warm during the day and comfortable enough through he nights.

I’m wondering if there are any ways to increase the heat output of my Napoleon 1101 insert (with blower). Last winter I bought and tried out an EcoFan. While it worked as described and a cool concept, I did not notice any heat out put differential when used in conjunction with the blower. This could have been my own fault as I set it atop the insert with little to no room for cool air draw from behind (because of the surround).

Some ideas I have: larger blower install? Surround the insert (that’s inside the old fireplace and covered by a surround) with fire brick to maintain/hold the heat as opposed to letting it suck straight up the chimney. Are these bad ideas? Waste of time? Any other suggestions? I’ve considered fans in the doorways, but don’t like the idea of electric cords and the Mrs. definitely does not.

Appreciate the suggestions.

JB

Don't forget the other end of it - making more of the heat you have - windows, doors, air leaks, and insulation especially in the ceiling.

Hello All,