Weak draft solutions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

WSS3

Nov 14, 2017
SW VA
Hey from the mountains of SW Virginia. First post from a new member.

I have a Morso Owl wood stove in a 2/12 pitch shed roof house. The single wall conector pipe indoors runs straight up about 10 feet to the roof support and a class A chimney that is proper length on the roof (48 inches) by all calculations I've seen.

The stove draft is weak enough that I get a puff of smoke when I open the door to add wood even when the stove and chimney are hot. This happens under all conditions regardless of weather. I'm a beginner at this but I know smoke indoors is bad.

I've checked the stove out by talking to Morso and doing an inspection as directed. I also used high temp caulk to seal some small leaks in the connector pipe joints. The indoor space is not depressurized. I've tried running the stove with a window open to be sure. With everything I've tried, I still have weak draft and a puff of smoke.

Is it likely that switching single wall connector pipe out for double wall will improve the draft significantly enough to resolve the backdraft problem? I've seen conversations here that double wall should be used for longer inside connector pipe runs. Does my 10 foot straight run call for double wall?

Thanks in advance for advice.

Your chimney may be too short...

From the Install Manual:

We recommend the length of the chimney system should be at least 16 feet (not required)
above the stove in normal domestic situations, measured from the flue collar to the top of the
chimney...