What happens when there is a power failure during operation?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LIpelletpig

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Jun 26, 2008
Long Island, NY
I'm a newbie. I was talking to my installer today who has a freestanding unit. I have a Harman Accentra Insert. He recently had an indicent where there was a power failure in his home when the stove was in operation. The fans obviously shut down and the unit doesn't feed pellets at that point. He did NOT have a battery back up system. The smoke from the smoldering pellets that continued to burn in the burn pot escaped the stove from every little space and filled his house with smoke. Is this normal? He also did not have a direct fresh air vent. Would of that helped in the escaping of the smoke? After listening to this story I am a little skeptical about leaving the stove unattended when not home and worrying about a power failure. Not to mention there are pets that could be effected by the smoke if this was to happen in my home. Is the answer to this problem to invest in a battery back-up system? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ive heared that with the verticle flue you wont have problems , but with horizontal youll get smoke. My power has gone out a couple times since weve had the stove, and fortunatly, there was no smoke in the house. We have verticle flue. Im sure more knowladable here will chime in.