What is the difference between Hardwood and Softwood Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

forya

Feb 18, 2010
Bucks County Pa
I am in my 2nd year burning with my harman accentra insert. I have burned Lignetics (hardwood), Hamer (hardwood), and Press-to-logs(?). So far the Lignetics burned the best, in that they didn't leave that hard glass like buildup in the burnpot. they were in the middle as far as ash. The Hamers do burn much hotter, and they have much less ash, but I do have to scrape the burnpot twice a day to get that hard stuff off. The Press to Logs were garbage. Way to mush ash, and very little heat.

Would a softwood pellet work for me? which ones are available in southeast Pa?

forya said:
I am in my 2nd year burning with my harman accentra insert. I have burned Lignetics (hardwood), Hamer (hardwood), and Press-to-logs(?). So far the Lignetics burned the best, in that they didn't leave that hard glass like buildup in the burnpot. they were in the middle as far as ash. The Hamers do burn much hotter, and they have much less ash, but I do have to scrape the burnpot twice a day to get that hard stuff off. The Press to Logs were garbage. Way to mush ash, and very little heat.

Would a softwood pellet work for me? which ones are available in southeast Pa?