what is the resistance range for a good Harman ignitor?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
There's a thread on here somewhere about this very subject; just got done reading it...I think I read that a working igniter is about 48-50 ohms. A dead one will be 0 (or infinity).

O Ohms is a short circuit... Infinity is an open circuit. (A piece of wire will read 0, a cut pice of wire will read infinity)

Swaybar said:
O Ohms is a short circuit... Infinity is an open circuit. (A piece of wire will read 0, a cut pice of wire will read infinity)

Duh...brain fart (and I'm an electrical engineer)...it's been a LONG day. Right...what swaybar said...a bad one will read infinity....YIKES!

lecomte38 said:
I think my ignitor is on the way out. How many ohms should a good one read?

From what I have read 47-54 Ohms on a new one, but I also understand that the Ohm check is not reliable.. If the reading is 0 ohms or Infinity, I would take that as bad, but not sure what the actual reading should be.

Swaybar said:
Thanks Timbo, you had me questioning my degree!

I think I should be checking mine! ;)

Swaybar said:

Well, Swaybar, it all depends on how ya look at it. Actually, a cut piece of wire will read 0. If ya take that first piece of wire ya had, cut it in two, both pieces will read 0. All depends on where ya stick yer little probe thingys.

I think I read somewhere that these are 300 or 400 watt ignitors if they follow Ohms law (R = V2/W ) and are powered by 120 volts at the ignitor:

at 400 watts resistance would read 36 Ohms

at 300 watts resistance would read 48 Ohms