what to burn first...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FishKiller

Jan 25, 2013
Right now i have this year, next and into 19/20 on the stack in basically all oak. this year is 3-4 year old, and the younger stack is all red oak that came down summer 2014. in march of this year i got my hands on about 2.5-3 cords of silver maple. i dumped the rounds on pallets and have been chipping away at it by hand most of the year as a workout. i got tired of that and finished it with the splitter in august and stacked it. i have no experience with maple, but it feels extremely dry (no i don't have a fancy moisture meter yet). however, it feels extremely light and passes the fresh split cheek test.
I love my oak, and i'm kinda scratching my head over this maple. i'm okay with letting it sit, but i also don't have a shed and its only top covered. I don't know if i want it hanging around till 2020, i'm afraid i might start losing some to rot by then. whats your guys thoughts... burn it shoulder months? mix it in this year and next? sell it? don't worry about it till 2020?

I actually burn a lot of silver maple. If dries pretty well after 1 summer split and stacked. Even better after 2. I mix it with not quite ready oak.

I agree. I'd check it with a meter and begin mixing it in or exclusively use it during shoulder as soon as it's ready. No reason to burn oak if you don't need to.