What to do now?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Prairie Pucker

Oct 24, 2013
n. Illinois
I've been burning wood since 1979 in what was the largest model stove that Woodland offered back then. Large door with glass, room air for combustion. In a drafty old farmhouse it worked just fine. In the mid-90's we moved into a mostly airtight new house, so I modded the stove to use outside combustion air. Instead of building a fireplace, we built a large central chimney and parked the stove on a stone hearth in front of it with a stovepipe into the flue. The house also has a gas furnace and we don't depend entirely on the stove, using it to provide supplemental heat and reduce gas usage. But on a few occasions when the furnace has conked out (usually on the coldest day of the winter) or the power failed, the stove has prevented an inconvience from becoming a crisis. Typical usage is around 3 cords per season.

Here's the arrangement:

WoodStove.JPG P1010450.JPG

There are 2 other unused flues in the chimney that were included for possible future stoves.