What to do with small branches

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EPS

Burning Hunk
Jun 5, 2015
NH
I realize that I've started more than a few threads lately; forgive me, I am a teacher and we are on break this week, so I have been focusing on my wood pile!

This question is about what to do with those little skinny branches that I've been finding or result from cutting up the thicker parts of trees? What diameter is too small to split and stack? I never wish to waste, but also don't want to have one big stack of sticks.

Attached is a photo of my unprocessed wood, all of which I collected from the woods behind my house. I did not cut down any standing trees (that's for Springtime). By nature they are small and crummy, so no comments needed about that, but any IDing would be welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_20160223_090659_hdr.jpg
    IMG_20160223_090659_hdr.jpg
    224.8 KB · Views: 461
Reactions: Paulywalnut
I would personally cut those branches to size and stack them with your other wood. Those look small enough that you don't have to split, IMO. Then with the smaller stuff you could store and use as starter wood or even bonfire wood. I usually take lawn bags and fill them with small sticks for starter wood.

Dave

Most look like firewood but there is at least one large branch in the middle of your picture that looks pretty darned punky to me. I would return that to the woods to let it finish decaying.

I always discard anything below 1". Anything below 2" is left in the woods if I am feeling lazy.