What would you do to improve the situation?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Very nice hearth and stone setup. Love the way it looks.

I'm new to this, and this is my first year burning. I have decent, but not good wood but I also have zero 90 degree bends and a perfectly straight pipe. It extends well above the roofline and I get a nice wind that sucks the air right out of the pipe. I think my setup is idea.

However, in when it is damp, the wind isn't moving too well, and above 40::F outside, it is really tough to get a good draft. If I was you, I'd run a controlled test before you exert any more energy.

Make for certain nothing could be blocking the air intake.
Test the wood to make sure it is <20% like the others have said.
Wait for a cold day <30::F.
Get a good coal bed and burn it nice and hot with the door open. Then close it down and add more dry wood. See what happens.

Well, that is one of the better arguments against OAKs I have read::P First thing in the AM when I am in my PJs and sock-less trying to get my stove going, the draft running across the floor to my stove with wide open primary seems more than insignificant though...so I wonder if 10-25 CFM is average but much higher during startup? Different thread I am sure;lol

Regarding that link that says outside air intakes are not needed for stoves or fireplaces.
It may be correct regarding wood stoves. However, I have this big, pretty fireplace pictured at left. I built it with a 5x5 inch outside air intake, right in the middle of the hearth.