Which chainsaw and mill ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rich in MA

Apr 30, 2007
Just joined the forum tonight. Any advice you can offer a newbie would be appreciated!

Did plenty of light homeonwer cutting several years back but no longer have a chainsaw. Had a few tall pine trees come down in a recent storm. Got a quote of $500 to remove one tree - yikes! I've got 4 to deal with. I'm also a hobbiest woodworker so was thinking of getting an Alaskan mill to make some usable lumber. Then a buddy told me he's got 3 oaks on his lot that need to be cut down. That tipped the scale - I'll buy a chainsaw and sawmill and make some lumber and dry it. Can't wait to build something from my own wood. And I won't mind not paying for rough sawn!

Most of the work would be done by myself with an occasional helper. So I need a setup that one man can operate. And I'm an average guy - not a lumberjack :)

How do you determine how long of a bar you need? Is there a formula based on the diameter of the tree? I think the stuff I'll be working will all be under 2', probably under 18".

What make / model chainsaw do you recommend? I read some of the posts here, strong and fast win. But which models? I'd prefer not to buy too much but like my dad taught me - buy quality and it only hurts once.

Sawmills - recommendations?

Rip chains - how do you choose the angle, etc?

Where to buy - there are a ton of sites on the web. Which do you recommend? Am I better off buying locally to get service from the dealer?