Why not to angle your back cut?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AbeAinPa

Dec 30, 2008
Southeastern Pa
I've seen it stated several times that when felling a tree the back cut should be made horizontal and not angled, but I've never seen it written as to why. Anyone got the answer on that one?

I heard that under some circumstances it can cause the tree to jump up kinda like having a ramp rather than fall off the back. I don't know but I haven't tried it either.

Billy

Im just a rank beginner but its my understanding that the whole tree felling thing is utilizing the hinge of wood left in the cut to guide the fall of the tree.

The angled back cuts apparently reduce the effectivness of the hinge.

I cant say exactly why but the guys who know what they are doing dont do it.

What Billy says makes sense. I've seen stumps that were cut that way, but I've never thought that much about it. Not how I was taught.

I can tell ya why based on experience.... Was cutting a about an 10" diameter trunk, made my notch then did NOT make a horizontal back cut - my back cut was angled down. what happened was the trunk instead of tipping the direction I wanted it too, slid down the back cut and notch, and ended up hinging the wrong way and fell directly backward knocking my in the head. Luckily it was a glancing blow and I was not injured but I learned my lesson.

Got Wood said: