1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

wood furnace questions....

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by GEW_Ohio, Sep 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GEW_Ohio

    GEW_Ohio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Southeast Ohio


    Hello All!

    I am getting ready, after some research, to purchase a hotblast wood furnace from Tractor Supply. Yes, Yes I know it is not the best quality, however I am cost conscious, and I think this model will meet my needs. I need some advice, however.

    1. I have a 1500 square foot manufactured home on a 14 course high basement.
    2. I already have a Dura Vent triple wall chimney installed.
    3. I removed some of the bottom insulation from the house and installed floor vents to help circulate heat.
    4. I am ready to put in the Furnace.
    5. I am not going to tie the furnace into the existing central heat/air supply.
    6. I had a smaller stove in there last year (wondercoal), but it did not produce the BTU's I needed.
    7. I have ample wood and coal and have a medium level of experience with fires.

    Questions
    1. What kind of duct work do I have to use? Can I use the flex duct? Probably no, right????
    2. Do I have to use a cold air return?
    3. What other suggestions to you all have?

    Thanks for the input.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. freeburn

    freeburn Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    The only one suggestion I have is, make sure if at all possible hook it into the cold air return. It's cleaner and does a much better job at evenly heating the house and heats it up faster.

    Just FYI - This is probably good to ask in the BOILER ROOM Forum. This is mostly for stove owners/operators.
  3. GEW_Ohio

    GEW_Ohio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Southeast Ohio
    Hello All!

    I am getting ready, after some research, to purchase a hotblast wood furnace from Tractor Supply. Yes, Yes I know it is not the best quality, however I am cost conscious, and I think this model will meet my needs. I need some advice, however.

    1. I have a 1500 square foot manufactured home on a 14 course high basement.
    2. I already have a Dura Vent triple wall chimney installed.
    3. I removed some of the bottom insulation from the house and installed floor vents to help circulate heat.
    4. I am ready to put in the Furnace.
    5. I am not going to tie the furnace into the existing central heat/air supply.
    6. I had a smaller stove in there last year (wondercoal), but it did not produce the BTU’s I needed.
    7. I have ample wood and coal and have a medium level of experience with fires.

    Questions
    1. What kind of duct work do I have to use? Can I use the flex duct? Probably no, right????
    2. Do I have to use a cold air return?
    3. What other suggestions to you all have?

    Thanks for the input.
  4. laynes69

    laynes69 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,882
    Loc:
    Ashland OH
    Yes you should have a return to circulate the heat around the home. You cannot use flex duct for heat distribution for a wood furnace. You can run a few heat ducts off the furnace through the home to aid in circulating the heat. Plus you will get radiant heat off the furnace. If you run some ducting, follow clearances stated in the manual, in case of a power outage. The ducting temps can climb quickly.
  5. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,972
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    sounds like you have a good grasp on what to do i just used the metal round duct work fomr menards and sems to go on sale alot. 1500 sqft that thing should run you out of there
  6. GEW_Ohio

    GEW_Ohio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Southeast Ohio
    thanks.

    1. There is no Menards where I live
    2. Ill try lowes...
  7. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,862
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Moved to boiler room for more targeted responses.

    Recommend that the manufacturer's installation directions for ducting, clearances, etc. found in the manual be followed.
  8. Duetech

    Duetech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,436
    Loc:
    S/W MI
    I used insulated flex duct at the end of a trunk line for two rooms with only a crawl space and an Engander wood furnace. Never experienced a problem but the flex line did not start until at least twenty feet from the wood furnace.
    It is not imperative to tie into the cold air return, just leave the basement door open, but the extremeties of the house will not experience as good of an air flow and not heat as well which I think jburner was warning you about and he gave you good advice. Hooking into your cold air return though will actually draw air from all of your existing furnace duct work, including the dirt collection side of the air filter, unless you put in a back draft damper. You may not need to tie in though if you have the double blower model wood furnace but you may have to close part of the register openings with the star wheel register adjustment for the rooms closest to the furnace or they will roast you out.
    Buy a moisture meter to make sure you don't burn wet wood and make sue you have a rain cap on your chimney pipe. Lastly make a walk out for the basement to walk wood in.
  9. Gooserider

    Gooserider Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,737
    Loc:
    Northeastern MA (near Lowell)
    I have merged the two threads on this topic together in order to reduce confusion and avoid duplicating answers. It is best if you can try to do "one project / one thread" as it makes life easier for everyone.

    Gooserider
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page