Wood ID

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lil'Dan

Jan 25, 2014
Kansas
I was told this might be hickory. I'm new at this so i have to take peoples word. Figured somebody on here could tell me for sure what it is.
IMG_0322.jpgIMG_0323.jpgIMG_0324.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Can we get an end grain shot with bark?? Can not give you an answer from the three photos you have there.

3rd pic bark looks like maybe Hickory. Yes, I agree, we need an end shot to see the grain.

I think Hickories normally have a lighter sapwood and darker heartwood, giving the end a two-tones appearance. I googled some images to remind myself what hickory looks like, and I don't trust that any of the images I got were actually hickory. So that didn't help, but I am still going to say you do not have hickory. I am not sure what it is .

My best guess is Basswood, however the sawn ends do not appear fuzzy enough to be Basswood. I do not see Hickory there at all, reason being that the wood is all sapwood very little heart there at all, not something you see in hickory. Is the wood heavy or pretty light? I'm pretty much stumped.

It kind of looks like younger cottonwood to me. Especially in the photo of the split - the bark is starting to show that deep furrowing like older cottonwoods get. It's also a very pale wood inside from what I've seen...though I think it sometimes develops a slightly darker heartwood.