Wood identification help needed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

racer765

Oct 5, 2023
Michigan
Hello everyone,
I'm new to burning wood and still learning. In our recent wood stove and stainless pipe install I've only burned oak and ash so far. My inlaws gave us a bunch of seasoned firewood that was left at a home they purchased that was a mix of ash, oak, and this other wood I haven't been able to identify. I've been hesitant to use it without knowing what it is. I want to make sure it is not pine. In the pictures the bark looks different but the weight, grain, and texture of the wood is the same in all of those pieces. The wood is light in color and significantly lighter in weight than the oak and ash. It did not feel sticky like sap. I'm wondering what this wood is and should it be burned in a wood burner? Thank you for your help.

IMG_20231130_121803928_HDR.jpg IMG_20231130_121828809_HDR.jpg IMG_20231130_121855707_HDR.jpg

The bark looks like pine
If it is dry burn it burns hot and fast
A lot of people like and burn pine. I don't
because I have 220 acres of maple and Oak
Pine here goes to the fire pit

Nothing wrong with pine as long as it's dry. I burn a lot of it in the stove, it works well to get things started then add something heavier for heat.

I'll vote cottonwood.

Reactions: River
Thank you everyone for the replies! I feel a lot better knowing it's ok to burn . I checked the moisture content as it seemed pretty dry. The pieces were all 7-8%. I just put some in tonight and it burns fast and hot.