Wood Pile Step Down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

soupy1957

Minister of Fire
Jan 8, 2010
Connecticut
www.youtube.com
Ok folks, based on my other threads, you know by now that I'm a newbie to having a home wood stove and am covering all the bases to make sure that I am burning efficiently and effectively.
Yes, there are tons of threads on the stuff I'm introducing, yet again, but I'm thankful for those of you who will contribute yet again, to help out yet another beginner.
This thread is designed to talk about wood piles, aging, dryness and step-down procedures for my wood stock. I buy my wood, (being a suburbanite and not having more than a half acre of land). I have Pine trees around my property that I WON'T be burning, and some American Red Cedars along the back, and two Sugar Maples. I'm thinking that "one day" I may burn the American Red Cedars and the Sugar Maples, but they are by no means an un-exhaustible resource for me, since there are only limited numbers. (Yes, of course I could replant, but these trees are 50 years old, and I'm not going to live long enough to see the next batch of 50 year old trees).