wood stove for emergencies

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hillbillyhandyman

Nov 13, 2007
Eastern Shore Maryland
Good Evening - I am a total stove novice with a very specialized application for a woodstove. I live in a 1200 square foot frame house with an unfinished concrete basement. I want to install a woodstove in the basement for backup heat in case the power is off or some event makes heating oil hard to get. I am looking for an inexpensive stove since it will only be fired a few times a year just to check functioning. I plan to have a professional grade stainless chimney installed and clean the chimney frequently regardless of usage. Based on all this, can anyone suggest an inexpensive wood stove of about 40,000 BTU? I base this figure on the fact that a 25,000 BTU propane heater keeps the house livable but not comfortable ( 50 degrees) in cold weather.

Thanks in advance for your advice :)

here ya go

http://www.englanderstoves.com/13-nc.html

or possibly...

http://www.englanderstoves.com/30-nc.html

if you are looking to heat house and basement the 30 might be a better choice

CFM has some nice inexpensive units as well, the century line. sorry i dont have links for them handy , but im sure someone could post them for ya.

best advice i can give you is to look at these units or similar , make sure they are EPA certified stoves and have UL approval, if these two criteria are not posted stay away from them