1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Yet another stove install issue

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Walt_85, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    Finally got the "factory built chimney liner adaptor" last night and as far as I know I have all the necessary pieces to begin my install. However, I've noticed yet another issue that I'm hoping someone can help with. My stove (Lopi Republic 1750i) has a 6" flue opening. One of my initial purchases was a 6" offset box due to the existing pipe being further back than the insert sits in the firebox. So, just now tried to sit the offset box inside the stove flue and (of course!) it doesn't appear to fit right. The inlet opening for the offset is actually 5 and 3/4". This causes the connection to not be a tight fit. Can I work with this or do I have to contact the manufacturer and get another one? Also, the damper control rod for my stove keeps the adaptor from being able to sit flush, so can I cut a notch in the offset connector to allow it to fit around the damper control rod?

    Thanks in advance for the help, and Happy Thanksgiving!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    yes you can notch it but you are putting it inside the stove collar not over it correct
  3. Tenn Dave

    Tenn Dave Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    424
    Loc:
    SE Tennessee and New Jersey Shore
    Walt, I would play it safe and first contact the Lopi Customer Service/Support department. I know when I installed my Progress Hybrid, Woodstock was more than happy to answer all my questions and give suggestions. I would think Lopi will probably welcome your call and assist you in a successful installation. Happy Thanksgiving.
  4. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    Still very new to stoves, so I'm taking a guess at what the stove collar is. If it is the opening of the stove, then yes I am trying fit the offset inlet inside the outlet hole of the stove.

    Thanks for the help! Any ideas about the 5 and 3/4" offset inlet fitting inside the 6" stove outlet? Is that ok?
  5. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    This is definitely one of the things I plan on doing next week if I can't get the answer before then. Just hoping to find an answer quickly instead of fretting over it until Monday!
  6. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    ive installed alot of the offset adapters over the years .I make the notch as you talked about before and i make sure the adapter sits all the way down on the stove collar or stove top depending on the model .the fact yours doesnt fit tight is not a big deal but in those instances i like to add a stainless strap or bracket to attach the adapter to the stove top .this will help keep it in place when its cleaned.hope this helps
  7. Nick Mystic

    Nick Mystic Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    767
    Loc:
    Western North Carolina
    The difference between 6" and 5 3/4" is a pretty significant gap. I'm not familiar with exactly how your pieces are having to fit together (photo would help), but I wouldn't think a strap is going to be able to do much to correct that sort of gap. I would think if this is your main flue connection with the stove you would want a solid secure connection. Good luck working things out.
  8. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    [

    i didnt say anything about the strap fixing the gap,just that the strap helps keep it in place when the chimney is swept.I have installed over a hundred adapters in the 22 years ive been in the hearth industry and they are never always a perfect fit every time. ive seen them have to be crimped to fit and others are a little loose.If hes unhappy with the fit return it and try another one
  9. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    So, still waiting on a reply from Travis Industries on the offset box questions. However, I am wondering if I can just use an elbow, but I can't find any size dimensions regarding the ones I find online. I would definetly prefer to use an elbow because I'm not sure how to seal the leaks on the offset box.

    Anyway, on the inside of the firebox I've got about 5" of clearance to work with, and the best I can figure I'm going to need about 6" of offset. Can this be done with elbows instead of the offset box?

    I really want to help the draft as much as possible since I only have about 17' or so of chimney and I live in central Alabama.

    If I can't do this with elbows, what are my options for sealing the offset box? Measure where it needs to be and then have a welder close it up? Then make a gasket for the clean out port?

    All help is greatly appreciated!
  10. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    you can use a rope or flat gasket around the offset box inlet pipe ,whats the gap like a 1/8 inch all the way around .
  11. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    you dont have enough room for elbows with 5 inches to work with
  12. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    Yeah, maybe an 1/8", it's not much, just not a tight fit. Some gasket might work I reckon
  13. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    Yeah, that's what I was afraid of, thanks.
  14. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    So, any suggestions for sealing up other gaps in the offset box but still being able to use the cleanout? This is one of those adjustable deals, and the adjustability causes it to not be air tight.
  15. Rickb

    Rickb Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Loc:
    St.Louis
    with 6 inch pipe 2 45's put together should give you 6 inches of offset. Depending on how much room you have on top you may be able to use those.
  16. xtrordinair

    xtrordinair Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    southern indiana
    it doesnt need to be air tight ,the only time it would ever leak smoke is if the chimney were to get blocked ,or the cap screen covered with soot ....i hate cap screens its the biggest problem spot on most chimney systems.
    webby3650 likes this.
  17. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,688
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    The offset box you have is normal, they are not "airtight", but neither are stove pipe connections or the flex adapters on the liner.
    Lopi has started sending a 1/4" rope gasket to wrap around whichever fitting is needed to make the connection. It comes with adhesive already on it, it works well. Make the notch for the bypass rod, wrap it with some gasket and you will be fine!
    xtrordinair likes this.
  18. Dave A.

    Dave A. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    614
    Loc:
    SE PA
    If there's any way to cut out more metal in the damper area or even remove a few bricks and have the liner attach without an offset box, you might be better off.
  19. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,688
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    In these little pre-fab fireplaces, there just isn't enough room. If the 2 flues don't line up, a box is about the only option when you only have a few inches to work with.
  20. Dave A.

    Dave A. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    614
    Loc:
    SE PA
    Okay. I guess the "factory built chimney liner adaptor" didn't register.:)
  21. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama

    Unfortunately, I didn't get this rope gasket with my stove, but I do have to make another trip up to the dealer because one of the firebricks was broken during transport, so maybe they have some of this on hand.

    So, only because I am so concerned with smoke in the house, does anyone see an issue if I just use more of this rope gasket to seal up the offset box as well as using it for the flue collar connection?

    I know I would probably have to replace some of it each time I used the clean out port, but I'm ok with that as long as everything is sealed up and safe, both for a me (asthma) and baby #1 due in May.

    Thanks for all the help, no way I would be this far along without this site!!!
  22. Walt_85

    Walt_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Wetumpka, Alabama
    Wow, didn't know a series of "!" made that face haha

Share This Page