YTD Savings

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Garbanzo62

Minister of Fire
Aug 25, 2022
Connecticut
This is my first year with the Insert and I am trying to track my ROI. Hopefully this trend continues through the winter.

Last Year I received 146.1 Gallons of oil on 12/13 and 162.1 gallons on 1/12. This year, I received 126.6 on 12/9 and 69.5 gallons on 1/4.
So for the December period I have used 92.6 less gallons. Dec 22 avg temp was 4 degrees colder than Dec 21.

YTD I have used 139.62 less gallons than last year. Positive trend, hope it continues.

Ive spent about 300-400 on wood, used an 1/8 of a tank of oil. Before my stove.....500 a month of oil alone.

Reactions: NickW
Ive spent about 300-400 on wood, used an 1/8 of a tank of oil. Before my stove.....500 a month of oil alone.
Nice job! I’ll bet you keep the house a temp you prefer now more that with the old oil heat too.

Reactions: BillBurns and NickW
You know it. I keep it about 70 in my house, and with oil....64 as a median temp. Its just better bone warming heat, the wood I mean. I dont know how I made it without wood heat.

Reactions: Vg3200p and NickW
So I've bought 3 hand loads of Slabwood at $40 a piece plus the cost to rent a truck. 2 of those loads I got last week and I'm still in the process of cutting to length etc. I've only burned a portion of the first load and that cost me $70 after truck rental gas etc. All other wood is stuff I've had/processed myself. Slabwood is because I don't expect to have enough burnable to get through the winter. Guessing that the total amount of slabwood I bought is about 1.75 cords.