Air to Water Heat Pump?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

FrankL

Mar 5, 2023
Upstate NY
Hi & still a newbie here. Just wondering. Does anyone know of a decent installer of air to water heat pumps in the Mohawk Valley/Capital district of NY State? I know the technology is new to the U.S. (we're kinda slow in the uptake on energy saving technologies,) but was hoping there are a few installers who have a clue how to do it. We already have hydronic heat in our house (oil/wood boiler) but are hoping to add heat pump capability.... (Gettin' too old to handle firewood any more, and don't like mortgaging the house just to fill the oil tank! Thanks for your help, folks!

What do you have for emitters? To the best of my knowledge A-W heat pumps need low temp emitters. They are still young but I don't think they output any or much more than 120°.

What do you have for emitters? To the best of my knowledge A-W heat pumps need low temp emitters. They are still young but I don't think they output any or much more than 120°.
No new emitters yet. Existing modern baseboards, set for max efficiency @ 180 F. (They do the job pretty well when using the oil / wood boiler @ 120-140 F. ) Still in the planning stages, so looking for a mid-NY State installer. Lord willin,' I can do the emitter changeover as necessary, myself. From what I've read, will need to upgrade baseboards to high output emitters, at least in the main living areas, for the new system to work well... Thanks for your reply!

Not necessarily saying you should do this, but you could potentially save money by doing it.