Baker Stove temperature drop

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

kcopenheaver

Nov 28, 2017
PA
I am new to the wood stove world, and my challenge is keeping the temperature at the 300+ level, thus reducing the buildup of creosote.
Unless I have the air intakes open wide and a significant amount of wood in the stove, the temp drops as soon as the wood burns down. Yes, I have coals, but the temp drops way past 300. I can get the temp back up by adding more wood and opening the air intake (having closed it once the fire was burning well), but this requires adding a good bit of wood at regular intervals.

Please provide informations on the stove and details on the wood you are burning. Also the type of chimney, the length, indoor or not and under what climate you are living. The draftyness of the house and isolation level and size could also be important variables

How seasoned is the wood? I'd look there first.

Well, I purchased it locally and it is to be mostly Ash. It is dry enough to easily split into smaller pieces. I don't know if that is an indicator of how seasoned it is.
No it isnt at all. But no matter what your temps will drop once you get to coals. How long that takes will depend on species the stove the ammount of wood you load the draft and many many other variables.

How far closed should the damper be once I get a good fire burning? and the intakes (2 on the front of the stove (Baker) that rotate to adjust the air.

How far closed should the damper be once I get a good fire burning? and the intakes (2 on the front of the stove (Baker) that rotate to adjust the air.