Bar Oil

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Medic21

Minister of Fire
Feb 26, 2017
Northern Indiana
Anyone else use this stuff. I’ve ran a couple gallons this winter. It’s been great so far. Half the price of Stihl or any other saw manufacturers brand. It’s non parifin based also.
50E5F0AD-4E69-4FFD-BCF7-BD39B81E0666.jpeg

Last edited:
I went to my Stihl dealer and asked to buy a gallon of B/C oil, this is what he sold me. I thought it was kind of weird that he did not sell me Stihl branded product.

I'm no expert but this oil seemed to work as well as any.

double the price of stabdard stuff around here

I've been using canola oil I bought in bulk. It's working well summer and winter.

I’ve run through a bunch of that stuff. No problems with it it’s been as good as anything else I’ve used. Got it at my local Stihl dealer

I use the bar oil from tractor supply. $7 a gallon. I have had good luck with it too.

Reactions: Sawset and tadmaz
Buddy of mine gave me a 5 gallon bucket of Solest Polyol Ester Compressor oil, says he's used it for years with no problems. They change it out anytime they work on the compressor because it cannot have any moisture in it. It's clear as a bell, any thoughts on that?

These posts about bar lube always make me think about my dad. He always used waste motor oil for the bars on his saws. My dad is passed for over 10 years, but I can still remember hem saying something like 'it was good enough for the engine until I drained it, it is good enough for a chain saw bar'. :)

I don't don't go so far as to use waste oil, but I don't fret about what I buy. Usually its what is on sale!