Big Moe Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Seefral

Nov 11, 2022
Maine
Hi folks. I'm brand new to this form.

My neighbor is offering me a Big Moe stove that came with the house he just purchased. It's going to take considerable effort to get it out of his basement. Before I do I wanted to get some expert answers to my questions. The stove is not hooked up and looks like it will need quite a bit of TLC to make it look good in my basement and work properly.

I suspect I'll have to change the firebrick. From what I've read, that's a pain, but doable. Stoves I've had in the past had angle iron to hold the bricks in place. These angle irons also let me know where bricks are needed. I presume this will be similar. If anyone has a picture of the brick layout that would be helpful. As I understand it, I'll have to put down fiberglass mat insulation that is then covered by sheet metal and then the brick on the floor of the stove. As I understand it the firebricks will likely have to be cut on my tile saw. He doesn't have the blower for it but it does have a "port" on the right side. I presume I can get a blower and rig something up. Suggestions here appreciated. The caps on the outlet ports on the front of the stove are missing. I'm assuming they are not necessary. Let me know if they are required for proper function. Finally, on the back, where the stove pipe connects, there are two concentric flanges like in the attached pic. Why two? Is this to accommodate two different size stove pipe sizes, or is this for some other function? Which one do I connect the stove pipe to?