Bixby 115 troubles

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

dandersox

Jan 15, 2017
Central Iowa
Hello, I have been running a Bixby 115 for 10 years. It has been pretty good to me, I have had to replace the ignitors a few times. I am also kind of bummed that they went out of business a couple years after I bought mine.
Anyhow, I am burning wood pellet fuel and all this season mine has had an issue where it will run for several hours (like 5 or 6 or 7) and then just shut down and dump the pot with leds 2 and 3 flashing. I guess this is a blocked flue alarm. I can usually restart it and it will run for several hours again and shut down. I have thoroughly cleaned the flue several times. I have played with the knobs to richen up the fuel and turn down the fan etc. It still does it. I am running 2.06 firmware and thought the 2.73 might help me. Does anyone have version 2.73 that I can bum from them? I have a laptop I connect and I have watched the telemitry screen. The thermocouple reading goes up and down.quite a bit from 230 to 160 or so and back up but I don't really know what I should see there.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Welcome. I have a Bixby that is happier eating corn as it should:)
I was having the almost same issue at the start of the season and it was the gasket sealing the floor plates letting enough air through to mess with things. I did some repair and it ran all last week but still needs the stove tape gasket replaced. Maybe this week as the temps are going to be above freezing.