Blocked chimney - now what?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nhcowboy

Hearth Supporter
Jan 17, 2009
So. NH
I have been burning a Woodstock Soapstone "Palladium" stove for 15 years now - ever since I moved into my house. The house is 200+ years old, and the chimney has a clay liner. I had the chimney cleaned at the end of October '09. The sweep carried away a huge pile of creosote - said it had really needed cleaning. (I usually get it cleaned every year, but had skipped the prior year.) It burned great for about a week or two. Then started to back up smoke - just a little bit, when I opened the door to load in wood.

Well, the "little bit" of smoke got worse & worse, until I finally realized this wasn't normal and called in a chimney sweep again. Different guy, 'cause my usual one was under the weather. Well, this guy worked on it for hours - and finally announced there was a creosote blockage so bad he couldn't get it out. He started talking about cutting through the wall to get to the blockage.

So, my questions are:

(1) How the hell does this happen in just a little over 2 months??? (And, yes, I realize I'm an idiot not to have called someone at the first sign of smoke, but still, that wasn't the cause of this mess.) And, before you ask, all I've burned is ash (cut within the past year) and some other mixed, but very aged wood left over from years past. No garbage, other than newspaper used very rarely to start the fire. (The fire usually burns 24/7, so not a lot of newspaper.)