Bought a house with a Better'n Ben's wood stove.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

new_stove_owner

Oct 12, 2016
New York
I bought a house last year with the same stove in this picture (only difference is I dont have a glass door on mine):

http://s297.photobucket.com/user/jrz126_86ss/media/house/E32nd030.jpg.html

The installation is exactly as you see in the picture. I had a chimney inspector come and inspect the chimney and he said the chimney is very clear but that he couldn't approve the inspection because it is what they call a "slammer". I am new to owning wood stoves...I have had fireplaces in the past but not a wood stove. My question is whether or not I should use this? He says it is not up to code but I got the feeling that if it was his stove he would use it.

What could be the potential issues with it?

A slammer is a stove that simply vents up the chimney with no connection to it. The stove relies on the surround for a seal. This is no longer code legal. Depending on the setup this can be a creosote maker. The solution is to drop a stainless steel liner down the chimney and tie it directly to the flue outlet on the stove. Or replace the old stove with a modern EPA fireplace insert. This would be more efficient if the goal is to heat with wood all winter.

Thanks for the reply! We have oil, this wood stove, and electric heat. My goal is to supplement all of them this winter. I live in NY and was hoping to get by with just a couple cords of wood and then get just 1 refill of oil this winter.