Burrning on low

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Excell

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Oct 1, 2009
Winnipeg
I am new to pellet stoves and need some advice . I have it installed in my garage and like to leave it on low when I am not out there .Is that going to carbon up my chimney like a wood stove ? It would not be uncommon to go for 24 hrs or more at a time .

IMO it depends on the brand of pellets being used,I never had creosote build up in the pipe burning on low until I tried some potomac pellets after 2 bags of these pellets there was build up, my guess would be whatever pellets your using just check your exhaust if you can and see how it goes.

Thank you ,will do .It burned all nite and hardly used any thing .It is still warm in there around 50 Deg . I can see where extra insulation will help with this stove . With the wood stove It didn't matter I used to have to open the door to cool it down . This has lots of control .

xbillyx said:
I burn mine on low and I get a buildup on the glass screen. But, it doesn't bug me. I just clean it every several days. I may be getting the buildup from the pellet quality, though.

It may not be the pellets....the low setting on most stoves isn't great for keeping the glass clear. Low burn temps, and low airflow don't make things any better. Most stoves glass gets better when the heat & fans are turned up when the weather gets colder.