Central blower for RSF Opel 3 Catalytic?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Optimistic

Jan 26, 2018
New Paltz, NY
Hi,

(Note, ultra newbie here!)
This and similar topics have come up here in the past, but I'm curious to see people's current thinking.

We're looking at getting an RSF Opel 3 Catalytic, and were thinking of setting it up with a central duct blower, either to warm the basement, or possibly some more remote parts of the first floor.

It's a fairly large house, around 3700sf, and I'm not expecting the stove to heat the whole thing, just to hopefully make a dent in the heating requirements and so reduce oil use. The house has oil heated forced hot water, as well as 2 "split unit" air-sourced heat pumps, one centrally located on the first floor and one very peripherally located in the master bedroom. I think the split units were mainly intended for AC (we just bought the house), but right now we're trying to use the heat pumps as much as we can and minimize use of the oil burner.

So overall the idea was to combine wood and heat pumps, and pretty much not burn oil.

What are people's experiences with the central ducting systems? Some prior posts seem to be pretty happy with their central blowers, some seem to feel like they don't do much.

Last edited: