Design phase for new house. Opinions?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Norris

Jan 15, 2008
Orando FL
Greetings all. I'm currently in the process of designing a heating system for a house I'm going to be building in Missouri. I could really use a thumbs up from those with some experience.

Essentially I will be using a Tarm/EKO/Other Boiler in the 100,000 btu/hr range to do double duty on DHW and radiant heating for a 1550 ft^2 house. I'm not a hvac person, but I am an engineer. In that vein, I think the most reliable solution would be to borrow someone else's design.

http://www.radiantcompany.com/images/clsdwood.jpg

This diagram seems to have the cleanest basic layout for what I'm trying to do. Does anyone see any pitfalls in this setup?

Many thanks in advance,
-Paul Norris

Welcome to the Boiler Room, Paul. I think you'll be able to get all the help and information you need right here.