designing a home, need heating advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I am new to this and have read alot. I am in the process of designing a home to build in about a year. I have decided on a radiant heating system and wood furnace. I only know what I have read about both. I have acess to plenty of wood and two large stainless steel milk tanks for water storage. I have been looking at the EKO equipment and that seems to be the way to go. Is there any advice anyone can give as far as layout or anything else during my desing process?

I dream of a small open style house with a big wood stove in the center, brick floors that are warmed by sunlight during the day and a solar electric system for most of my electric needs.

Someday. . .

design the radiant to operate at the lowest possible temperatures. If it is a slab on grade run the calcs at various tube spacing to get the required supply as low as possible. 2" minimun below slab and edge insulation for slab radiant. By doing this you could charge the milk tank storage to 180F and use it down to perhaps 95- 100F. that give you a huge delta t to leverage, and long "coast" times.

If it is a dry system, installed under the subfloor, use extruded aluminum transfer plates.

Check out the system Roth offers for above floor installation. Warmboard is a great product for radiant on framed floors. A very substantial subfloor and an excellent radiant emitter with solid aluminum surface.

Consider a solar component. 45-50% solar fraction for SDHW is possible most anywhere and puts you in the Federal rebate program.