Digatal Thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rottiman

Minister of Fire
Sep 23, 2009
Ontario Canada
Just got myself a handy dandy new digital thermometer so I can do temp checks on different pellets. I am a newbie @ this pellet thing, after having burned wood for many years. I found with a wood stove that it was like being pregnant with regard to heat, either it was hot or it was not. That being said, can anyone tell me what a good range of temp to look for on the discharge air fromm the pellet stove? Thanks

I think you need to check the same location of the stove for consistency. I went out and bought a laser thermal gun. I point and shoot at the same location everytime. I actually point at the place where my pellets fall into the burn pot. I have been keeping track and check 1/2 hour into the burn.

www_godzilla said:
I think you need to check the same location of the stove for consistency. I went out and bought a laser thermal gun. I point and shoot at the same location everytime. I actually point at the place where my pellets fall into the burn pot. I have been keeping track and check 1/2 hour into the burn.

That is exactly what I have and have been doing with it. I have actually be monitoring several location on the stove and vent as well as taking air sample temps about 3 feet in front of the stove using a digital air thermometer. By the way, HOW BOUT THEM PATRIOTS right now!!!!!!!!!!

rottiman said: