Direct bury wire from the Garn barn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hedge wood

Feeling the Heat
Mar 1, 2009
Eastern NE
Getting ready to dig and foam the pex in starting Friday. My run is 250 feet from the Garn barn to the house just wondering what I should use for electrical wire for running the pumps or signal wire to start pumps. Just want to make sure I bury enough wire. Even if I run it in conduit I probably would not be able to pull more wire in later in that long of a run.

Suggestion (disclaimer that I am not a pro. electrician, but have done a large amount of wiring, including a bunch of underground installations for myself and friends)-- if you are going to the trouble of the trench, foam, etc., this is your one opportunity without a lot of costs- put in a few separate runs of conduit, even if you leave one or more empty. Cap the unused one(s) and later, if you need, you can use a shopvac to pull a thing that electricians call a "mouse" (foam chunk with a hook) through with fishing line attached. Then use the fishling line to pull some polypropylene rope through- and then use the rope to pull the wire through. I've never done that on something as long as 250 ft, but have done it with good results on a run of about 190 ft with some pretty stiff wire that I was pulling (wire pulling lube helps, too).