Enviro Meridian fan speed question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TJDave

Nov 20, 2014
Wa State
Hi again. Hope this isn't a silly question as I'm still new to pellet stoves. Second season with my freestanding Enviro Meridian. Bought new and professionally installed last year.

When starting the stove, the convention fan turns on after a good flame is established. Fan speed seems to be on the high setting. After the start up period ends, the fan kicks down to low. The fan will only blow harder if I increase the heat setting. I usually run on heat setting 2. Set on manual.

All the "fan" button does is turn it on or off. I want to be able to control the fan speed myself, and be able to turn it up without dumping more pellets in the fire pot. The stove puts out plenty of heat on setting 2 and uses an acceptable amount of pellets.

So the questions: Is this normal, or should the fan button allow me to cycle through the speeds?
If it is normal, is there any safe way to modify it so I can control the fan myself?
Are all stoves like this, or did I buy the wrong one?

Thanks for any advice. Still learning as I go.

Hi again. Hope this isn't a silly question as I'm still new to pellet stoves. Second season with my freestanding Enviro Meridian. Bought new and professionally installed last year.