Expansion Tank Location

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sid

Jan 5, 2015
Colchester Connecticut
I'm not an expert nor a plumber/hydronics engineer but I do feel I understand the concepts relating to expansion tank location.

Ideally, it is to be right next to or connected to air separator, and on the suction (I call it before) side of a circulator.

My install is rather complex so I'd love a second set of opinions on this issue.

In the drawing you will see the tank is tied in right after the boiler output and right before the air separator.
Boiler Piping Schematic.jpg

In the following picture you will see the way I piped it, very similar, just put it right after the air separator and that first tee that goes into the Thermobloc.
20151025_132617 copy.jpg

It seems if the best location would actually have been right on the horizontal inlet of the Thermobloc (that connects Thermobloc to bottom of storage tank). I feel that would be the area of least pressure. Also, why would it have been drawn the other way? (I plan to call Tarm Biomass and run the question by them since they always are quite helpful and easy to talk to, and it is where the drawing originated).

Now, do I really need to cut and redo my new piping? This project is long over budget in regards to money/materials and time and would really love to just keep it the way it is if it's OK. On the other hand, if I do need to change it, now is the time and I do want the project done right.