Flame Height on Harman Allure

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jpscroller

May 20, 2016
Arkansas
Let me begin by saying I am new to pellet stoves. I purchased a Harman Allure in the fall, and have been enjoying it. Recently I have noticed that the flame height is somewhat lower than it has been and I am trying to figure it out. Here are my thoughts:

1. Cleaning -- I clean the stove more than it recommends so I don't think it is that.
2. Feed Rate -- The default setting is at 65%, Does it need to be higher? Hate to adjust that since it has been fine up to this point which leads to next thought.
3. Pellets -- The dealer supplied me with 1 ton of pellets, so those have been really good so far. However those pellets are not available in my area. This dealer is almost 2 hours away. So I have been experimenting with pellets in my area? They don't seem to be as good. Could it be the pellet?
4. Outside Temp -- It has not been as cold outside in last couple of weeks so I was wondering it that could be it. I have made sure the temp setting on stove is several degrees higher than actual temp in room so it would be running consistently, rather than off and on.

Thanks for any help. Also, what is a normal time for igniter to start fire. Mine takes around 7 minutes, which seems longer than when I first got stove. Again, I'm wondering about brand of pellets.

Thanks,

Jeff

. Also, what is a normal time for igniter to start fire. Mine takes around 7 minutes, which seems longer than when I first got stove. Again, I'm wondering about brand of pellets.

Thanks,

Jeff