Grandma Bear - New to Wood Stoves & Forum

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Read1t48

Jan 15, 2016
Oregon
Hi -

First off, I want to say "thanks" for all the great info. on this site. I've learned a lot already and look forward to learning more. My wife and I bought a house with a Fisher stove. Thanks to this site, and Coaly's info., the stove appears to be a Grandma Bear III. I am fairly new to wood stoves but I am sure enjoying the feeling of wood heat. We have had no issues with this unit and it seems to hold a fire and heat very well.

This fisher sits down in our basement. It is a stand alone unit, rear pipe, with 8" flue, lined with firebricks that are in good condition. We've been burning in it virtually everyday since the beginning of this month. Although the stove in our basement, it seems to be heating the house very well. My house is well insulated, which is a plus. I have enclosed a few pictures and here are my questions…

1. I have a chimney inspector coming next week to sweep my chimney and inspect the pipe connections. I don't have a thimble or a tee in the wall. The horizontal stove pipe just terminates inside the flue of the chimney. Is this okay? The wall, as you can see from the photo, is non-combustible block construction.

2. We have two flues in our chimney - one for a fireplace on our main floor, which has a propane gas log. The flues appear to be lined with clay tile, but no modern liner. I assume a ss liner would help reduce the possibility of a chimney fire, but would it also improve the efficiency of the Fisher stove?