Harman P38 will not stay lit?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bmwbj

Oct 11, 2007
Ringoes NJ
OK I'm new to a pellet stove...My mother just purchased one and it was a joint effort between my brother and I to install.
It was a normal install into an exsisting fireplace hearth. We set up a new hearth pad and ran the pipe straight out the back
and up and into a block off plate.
Put it all together, plugged it in and filled up the hopper. ran the test mode to make sure all the "Fans" and auger was feeding
properly. So far so good. I added a decent hand full of pellets to the burn pot. Added some "gel" starter fluid. Lit the gel and closed the door and waited a few minuets for the gel to get the pellets started, than turned on the feed to position 1. After about 5 min. the pellets slowly go out. This process was tried 5 time with the same results.
I checked the chimney for no blockage ---- it will suck a candle out when I place it near the the exit pipe of the stove with the pipe disconnected from the stove. I can feel a fair amount of air flowing from the stove exhaust exit with the pipe disconnected.
The air exiting will increase when I turn up the feed rate.

Please help, Mom is really upset, and you all know how moms can be...any ideas are welcome...

Thanks

I don't have a Harman so maybe somebody else knows of something more specific to tell you but I would guess that the pellet auger is not yet filled with pellets...

The initial startup for my Quad was to keep hitting the reset button until pellets started dropping into the pot...