Harman XXV auger not turning in test mode

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

87fethers

Apr 17, 2022
New Hampshire
Hi All,

I bought a 2 familly house with a Harman XXV pellet stove that was installed in 2008. I'm new to pellet stoves, and this one doesn't want to start. I noticed the auger wasn't turning, so I thought it might be jammed. I emptied the hopper, and using YouTube videos as a guide, I slide out the auger halfway out to try to clear any jams. I reassembled and it still will not turn in test mode. Also, the light doesn't turn on. Any thoughts on what my next steps to triage and fix should be? harman_XXV.jpg

Make sure the door the fire box door is closing properly, you might have to open and close it a few times while it’s in test mode, try the hopper lid the same way separately

Make sure the door the fire box door is closing properly, you might have to open and close it a few times while it’s in test mode, try the hopper lid the same way separately
Thank you for replying. After you posted, all the latches look to be sealing tightly, and I tried opening and closing multiple times.

I see in the picture that the lights are on for the combustion and distribution blower, do they actually work ? If so, I would unplug the stove, there is a pressure switch with a hose and two wires connected to it.., remove the two wires and connect them together, thus bypassing the pressure switch.. and try the test mode again.. looking from the rear it would be to the right of the auger motor.. This is for testing Only..& not to run the stove..Report back.. similar to this switch:
1650307637938.png