Heat on with wood boiler but thermostats are lowered.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

sdmd88

Apr 11, 2022
L#t!r358
Hello. I'm a new homeowner with an oil burner and a wood burner. I have no experience with that kind of setup. When using the wood burner, the heat is on even when the thermostats are set to a lower temperature , 60 degrees for example so the temperature in the house is 70. It seems like the wood boiler is overriding the thermostats and is sending heat even though they are set to low. Is that normal ? I would think that it should work the same way as with the oil burner which does not send heat when thermostats are lowered.

Just to clarify, is this a wood boiler (heats water) or a wood furnace (heats air)?

My quick off the top of my head assessment would be, do you know if it's overheating?Causing it to dump the excess heat to the house.

This wood boiler heats water. I've just noticed that it also sends heat with the thermostats set to OFF for heat but it sends heat to only one of the zones and not both. I guess I need to contact a plumber or the local stove place because I'm totally not familiar with this system. Hopefully it's not overheating because I'm only burning a couple logs.

It might be a failing zone valve.

Reactions: chew72