House resale with pellet stove.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

apandori

Aug 18, 2014
Glenville, NY
Just for full disclosure: I sell real estate in Upstate NY. Since I'm only starting out with a pellet stove of my own I wanted to get some advice for marketing a home that has this sort of heat. Other than the obvious pros of cheaper heat, environmentally sustainable, etc... what do you all love about burning pellets?

Secondly, what would you guys do if you bought a house that had a pellet stove installed before trusting it's use? I know different brands have different quirks, but just looking for some general advice for when I come across this situation. I have recently had a buyer looking at a home with one installed and I'd like to be better prepared to showcase knowledge on the subject.

Thanks ahead of time for your thoughts!

You could expand on the economic value of burning pellets over oil or electric heat. If you try comparing different brands of pellet stoves you will likely open a can of worms. It would be like comparing the different brands of furnaces and in reality it should not be the major factor of that homes value. If you were to stand and brag about how good that brand was and I did buy the house only to find that appliance didn't work things would not be so nice.
You could say the previous owner was the last one to use it and pellet stoves are known for providing reasonable priced heat. That should be all you need to do on that subject.