How to maintain proper flu temp with overnight burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Jan 11, 2024
Blue Creek Ohio
Does anyone have suggestions on how to keep flue temperature correct when shutting stove down for an overnight burn. I'm new to utilizing wood stove heat as primary source and want to try to do everything the best as possible for safety, least maintenance etc. I have a laser temp probe and getting under 250 Temps when shutting stove down. I do have a magic heat hooked up and thought about turning it off at night but this would depreciate efficiency of my stove by a long shot. Do they have an auto fly damper for wood stove piped that open and close at a set temperature to help? Seems like this would be a great product. Ty for any and all hell and especially Coaly for his informative posts that have helped me modify my baffle prior to burning with this stove.

Reactions: ctreitzell
I have never used a Magic Heat, but I ran a stove very similar to yours for about 10 years. The only place I had any significant creosote accumulation was in the stove pipe, not the chimney.... but with that stove I had a LOT more in the stove pipe than I see with my newer stove so I am concerned about the accumulation you will see with the Magic Heat.

I found that I had trouble keeping the flue temperatures high enough without running the stove top up over 800 degrees. That is why I am not totally sold on the improved efficiency of the new EPA stoves over an old Fisher (or in my case, All Nighter). Cleaner burning, yes for sure. More efficient? Maybe.