husky 372xp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

loneeagle15

Feb 12, 2007
Montana
I purchased a husky 372xp brand new my question is how many pulls does it take to start it? The first time I tried to start it I flooded it ok I'm new at this I might have screwed up let it sit for couple of hours tried again it started tried yesterday would not start tried today again would not start it just floods out I am assumeing or should say I hope as the last 2 times I never did get it too start used fresh gas oil (50:1 per the manual) and checked the plug gap. So is there a trick or am I just unable to fiqure it out?
Thanks JD :-S

When brand new my 359 was a real pain to start the first 5-10 times. I don't know if it was just set wrong, or if that's typical of new engines. Now it's 3 pulls with choke out, and then 2 with it in.

To start most chain saws, and all Husqvarnas, you need to 1.) pull out the choke; 2.) engage the throttle lock; 3.) Pull until it fires. 4.) push in the choke and disengage the throttle lock; 5.) pull once or twice until it starts.

If you don't do these things in this order, the saw will flood.

The way to start a flooded saw is to hold the throttle on full (with the choke disengaged) and pull the cord until it starts.

If all of the above fails, take it back to where you bought it and get it checked out.

I do 1,3, the first part of 4, and 5. I don't touch the throttle when starting my saw, at least not intentionally. Is the throttle lock that "extra" button? My toe probably hits that, but I never thought it had anything to do with starting the saw.