Ice Fishing Discussion

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

StackedLumber

Oct 28, 2009
Michigan
For those of you that use your chainsaw's for ice fishing/spearing-do you replace your bar oil with a substitute for use on a lake? I'm completely new to the whole ice fishing/spearing thing. But I was quite suprised when the guys I was with cleared out their bar oilers and replaced it with vegetable oil for use on the lake. They said they were concerned about putting oil in the water. I wondered if this would be bad for the saw, and is it really that big of a deal.

no big deal on the veg. oil

I have some treehugger bar oil at home I tried.
Vegetable base of some sort.

I had chain troubles at the same time I tried it and although most probably coincidental, I haven't tried it again.

Ice Fishing, Yes I had the golden opportunity to go ice fishing when I lived in Oneida county in NY. I got cold and tired but still had a great time.I caught 35 pounds of fresh ice, but had a heck of a time filleting it Ken

Huh . . . learn something new every day. First, while ice fishing is real popular here I can't say as I have ever heard of anyone using their chainsaw to cut a hole in the ice . . . usually folks just use ice augers. Second . . . I learned about ice spearing . . . around here they use ice fishing jigs . . . you set the line and then wait until the flag pops up indicating that a fish may be on the line.

Hi -