Installing a New Harman P68

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam Neithercut

Oct 15, 2013
New Hampshire
Hello All,
I've been lurking around this forum for a while, but this is my first post. I'm also brand new to pellet stoves and bought a new Harman P68 by the endless recommendations on this forum, and by my FIL's experience with Harman pellet stoves. I've been heating primarily with wood for the last six years, but my family situation no longer allows me the time to cut, split and stack 8-10 cords per year. It was a valiant effort, but alas, the rest of my life just took over and have decided that a pellet stove was the way to go.

Alright, enough rambling and to the point. I'm planning to install this stove myself and have most of the parts and pieces that I need to do it, but am wondering about the best (meaning easiest) and most accurate way to go out through the wall of the house. I'm putting the stove in the corner and have bought the custom corner kit for the stove and the wall pass through unit is a square shaped box that requires a 7.25 - 7.5" square penetration through the wall to the outside. How do you recommend doing this? Also, the manual recommends that I check the low end of the draft through the stove with a draft meter and adjust as necessary. Do you call someone to do this or have you bought your own draft meters? Any suggestions that you have on this or any other facet of pellet stove ownership will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance for the help,
Adam.