Is this way of pellet stove venting ok?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Dsm1gb

Sep 26, 2018
California
Hi everyone this is my first post on this particular website. I’m brand new to stoves in general.

I have a mobile home, and have just installed my pellet stove. I have a 45 out the wall, to a T with clean out, and then a 4 foot straight up to a horizontal cap vent.

It vents a few feet just below the car port. The carport is completely open aside from the roof.

My outside air is approximately 8 feet below the vent cap. Do I need to cut a hole and continue the piping and vent through the carport roof? Or will it be ok the way it is. My concern isn’t soot or discoloration of the roof, but more of sucking back in Carbon monoxide.

The pictures are only showing mock up, I haven’t yet sealed them.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• F26319E1-2A0C-443D-88C7-4781D160FC45.jpeg
    F26319E1-2A0C-443D-88C7-4781D160FC45.jpeg
    96.9 KB · Views: 298
  • 71970CB8-9573-435D-9F4B-9425C5D8996E.jpeg
    71970CB8-9573-435D-9F4B-9425C5D8996E.jpeg
    70.7 KB · Views: 304
  • 1709E6DE-E856-4723-96D3-79D1C33A1583.jpeg
    1709E6DE-E856-4723-96D3-79D1C33A1583.jpeg
    93.3 KB · Views: 286