Just moved in , Need info on wood and oil boilers

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jcsheppard

Mar 2, 2008
Eastern Canada
Hi, i am very new to this so bear with me.
I just moved into a big two storey house approx 900 square feet per floor (the basement is unheated but is always warm, i assume cause of the two boilers). It has two boilers; an oil fired boiler connected with a wood fired boiler. When I moved in I signed a maintenance contract with an oil delivery company (Ultramar) whereby they do all the maintenance on my oil fired boiler. Well after a couple months of 800 dollar (per month) oil bills, I bought 2 cords of wood (aready seasoned) so I wouldn't lose my shirt this winter. The old home owner assuerd me that the wood boiler worked , so after a few hours of messing around with the valves i figured it out (i think). Long story short, when I got a good fire burning in the wood boiler everything was going fine until the fire died out when i went to sleep. I awoke to extreme heat and to the sound of my oil boiler firing. My oil boiler wouldn't shut off no matter what i did. Anyway on to the repair guy. I got charged a lot ot fix it (400 dollars) he said it was the dump zone valve causing it. Now i'm still learning but i need help. The old home owner left these guidlines for me (he's left the country so i can't get it touch with him anymore) OWNER SETTINGGS
Wood fired boiler(WF 100 New Yorker) L4006B Hi 190, diff 10 ; L4062A Hi 220, low 200
Oil fired boiler(saturn kerr, riello burner) Triple aquastat-relay L8124G high 200 low 180 diff 15