Layer of fire brick in Yachoumay AJM 686?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

eloflue

Jan 5, 2015
Ellwood City
I just got this stove and after doing some research I'm wondering if I should not burn with the grate. You can see the pic of the grate. I think this stove can burn coal also based upon this grate type. My question is that if I take the grate out to burn wood, do I need a layer of fire brick on the bottom or just build right on the cast iron.

Sorry I'm new to this

Stove is a Yachoumay AJM 686. Never heard of it but for $100 I couldn't pass it up.

Attachments

• IMAG1032.jpg
    IMAG1032.jpg
    149.2 KB · Views: 284
  • IMAG1033.jpg
    IMAG1033.jpg
    199.6 KB · Views: 258
  • IMAG1025.jpg
    IMAG1025.jpg
    119.1 KB · Views: 268
I don't think fire brick on the bottom would hurt anything .

Yes to firebrick if no grate.

Grate not necessarily NEEDS to be gone if burning wood--build on top, have space for ashes to fall away.

Add firebrick on top of grate? Increase radiant mass, decrease firebox size, length of burn, etc.

But I'm not a stove engineer (or any type of engineer for that matter)

Ok. The grate takes up a lot of space in my already smaller firebox and I know most newer stoves don't have a grate.

Would you say this is primarily a coal stove I have?

I'm not sure: my Isle Royale (new last year) has a grate--I'm not sure about coal stove vs wood vs wood/coal stove design. Hang out until someone who knows what they're talking about chimes in ;).