LP Storage Tank Fittings - humorous

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jebatty

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Jan 1, 2008
Northern MN
I drained the 1000 gal LP tank to get it ready to move to my new shop. Thought this the ideal time to add a couple of new fittings: 2" fittings on the end, 6" down from the top and 6" up from the bottom. Neighbor is a welder by trade and I asked him if he did pressure tank welding. He didn't answer my question, just asked what I wanted and said he would take a look at the tank. Yesterday morning he came over to look at the tank, along with a welder, hole saw, other tools and he already had bought the fittings. In 1-1/2 hours cut two holes in the end of the tank and welded in the fittings -- beautiful, neat, clean, two weld passes.

So, I asked him if I needed to pressure test the welds. He looked at me and said "No." Then he told me that he does welding at two local nuclear power plants plus a big coal fired power plant. I asked whether that included the piping. He said yes, with steam pressures in excess of 3000 psi. I felt a little like a dummy on the pressure test question.

As he walked out the door, he asked if I planned on hanging around awhile, as there were some sparks from the welding and grinding; said on the job someone always stays for 1/2 hour after the work just to make sure that there is no fire. I gladly hung around, and just took repeated looks at the beauty of those welds.

I will be putting in a post later this summer on the new shop, the boiler and tank move, the new set-up, and of course, a picture of those welds.